Bug report #4620

Killing QGIS deletes all user settings

Added by Paolo Cavallini over 8 years ago. Updated over 4 years ago.

Status:Closed
Priority:Normal
Assignee:-
Category:Build/Install
Affected QGIS version:master Regression?:No
Operating System:ubuntu Easy fix?:No
Pull Request or Patch supplied:No Resolution:worksforme
Crashes QGIS or corrupts data:No Copied to github as #:14522

Description

If I kill QGIS, at next restart of the program I miss all my settings (toolbars etc).

History

#1 Updated by Giovanni Manghi over 8 years ago

  • Target version set to Version 1.7.4

#2 Updated by Paolo Cavallini over 8 years ago

More precisely, the QGIS.conf file is overwritten/deleted.

#3 Updated by Paolo Cavallini about 8 years ago

  • Crashes QGIS or corrupts data set to No
  • Target version changed from Version 1.7.4 to Version 1.8.0
  • Affected QGIS version set to master

#4 Updated by Paolo Cavallini almost 8 years ago

  • Target version changed from Version 1.8.0 to Version 2.0.0

#5 Updated by Gavin Fleming over 7 years ago

  • Operating System set to ubuntu
  • OS version set to 12.04

My QGIS.conf has been overwritten so I assume it was caused by one of these crashes. I run nightly builds (from QGIS ppa) and I have experienced several crashes recently.

#6 Updated by Jürgen Fischer about 6 years ago

  • Target version changed from Version 2.0.0 to Future Release - Lower Priority

#7 Updated by Médéric RIBREUX over 4 years ago

  • Status changed from Open to Feedback

Hello, bug triage...

can you confirm that the bug is still valid ? On QGIS 2.13 (on Debian Stretch), the settings seem to be saved as soon as I click on the Ok button of the settings dialog box. Even a kill -9 don't erase them (at the next start of QGIS, the last settings panel displayed is the last I used).

#8 Updated by Giovanni Manghi over 4 years ago

  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from Feedback to Closed

closing for lack of feedback and as it seems fixed in recent qgis releases.

I remember to have seen this in the past, but never recently, not even after hard crashes (on both Linux and Windows). I assume that this was somehow fixed.

Also available in: Atom PDF