Bug report #3761

"Cancel" button in Symbol properties dialogue has the same effect as "OK" button.

Added by Alister Hood over 9 years ago. Updated over 5 years ago.

Status:Closed
Priority:Low
Assignee:-
Category:GUI
Affected QGIS version:master Regression?:No
Operating System:Windows Easy fix?:No
Pull Request or Patch supplied:No Resolution:fixed/implemented
Crashes QGIS or corrupts data:No Copied to github as #:13820

Description

  1. open the layer properties for a vector layer
  2. click the "Change" button on the left hand side of the window. This opens the Symbol properties dialogue
  3. change something (e.g. click the + button to add a symbol layer)
  4. click "Cancel"
  5. click the "Change" button again: you will see that the changes you made last time have been applied (e.g. the new symbol layer is still there), even though you clicked "Cancel".

FWIW I'm running r15740


Related issues

Duplicated by QGIS Application - Bug report #10550: Don't apply style when dialog is canceled Closed 2014-06-11
Duplicated by QGIS Application - Bug report #7998: Loading of .qml style can not be cancelled Closed 2013-06-04
Duplicated by QGIS Application - Bug report #13185: Qgis Layer Properties Cancel function it`s not working Closed 2015-08-05

History

#1 Updated by Alister Hood over 9 years ago

Sorry: the "Change" button I referred to is in the "style" tab, of course.

(and thanks for fixing my formatting Jef :) )

#2 Updated by John Tull over 9 years ago

Also, please note this ticket.
https://trac.osgeo.org/qgis/ticket/3427

In effect, the ok button causes rendering to occur again, for instance, after already hitting the apply button in the style dialog. The cancel button does not cause this re-rendering to occur, so it does have unintended functionality different from the ok button. At least that is true on my OS X system.

#3 Updated by Alister Hood over 9 years ago

  • Assignee deleted (nobody -)

"Cancel" button in Symbol properties dialogue has the effect as "OK" button

Obviously this description isn't quite right. The effect is not the same, as when you click cancel the changes are not applied in the main layer properties layer. The problem is just that when you reopen the symbol properties dialogue it remembers what you selected previously, instead of being reset to the current layer properties.

#4 Updated by Alister Hood over 9 years ago

Also see similar bug #4092 for the "Settings>Project Properties" dialogue

#5 Updated by Jürgen Fischer about 9 years ago

  • Pull Request or Patch supplied set to No

#6 Updated by Giovanni Manghi almost 9 years ago

  • Target version changed from Version 1.7.0 to Version 1.7.4

#7 Updated by Paolo Cavallini over 8 years ago

  • Target version changed from Version 1.7.4 to Version 1.8.0
  • Crashes QGIS or corrupts data set to No
  • Affected QGIS version set to master

#8 Updated by Paolo Cavallini about 8 years ago

  • Target version changed from Version 1.8.0 to Version 2.0.0

#9 Updated by Jürgen Fischer over 6 years ago

  • Target version changed from Version 2.0.0 to Future Release - Lower Priority

#10 Updated by Anita Graser over 5 years ago

  • Resolution set to fixed/implemented
  • Status changed from Open to Closed

With the redesign of the style dialog, I think this is not an issue anymore. Please reopen if necessary.

Also available in: Atom PDF