Bug report #9396

deactivate the Select datum transformations dialog by default

Added by Anita Graser almost 6 years ago. Updated over 5 years ago.

Status:Closed
Priority:Severe/Regression
Assignee:Martin Dobias
Category:Projection Support
Affected QGIS version:master Regression?:No
Operating System: Easy fix?:No
Pull Request or Patch supplied:No Resolution:
Crashes QGIS or corrupts data:No Copied to github as #:17994

Description

I'd classify the current behavior as a serious usability issue. Here is why:

  • Most users are happy with the default transformations. (I assume that's the case because it's not often a topic in the support channels.)
  • It adds at least two more clicks for opening a layer (if it has to be transformed).
  • Opening old project files is a real pain (until you notice and decide to use "remember selection").
  • Many users have no idea what to do with the dialog. It's just a list of weird parameters which most have never seen before. You only get some information about "preferred" and "deprecated" transformations on mouse-over.
  • Hiding deprecated transformations does not seem to work currently (tested with nightly on Windows 7).
  • Users who need non-standard transformations could add them to their QGIS options.
  • I think we would just scare away users if the first thing they see when they try to load some dataset is this dialog.

For full discussion please refer to: http://osgeo-org.1560.x6.nabble.com/Can-we-deactivate-the-Select-datum-transformations-dialog-by-default-tt5099061.html

Associated revisions

Revision f3166a58
Added by Martin Dobias almost 6 years ago

Fix #9396 (deactivate datum transform dialog by default)

Added a checkbox in Options > CRS > Default datum transformations to re-enable the dialog when desired

Revision 0310bb24
Added by Martin Dobias over 5 years ago

Fix #9396 (datum transform in save as dialog)

History

#1 Updated by Martin Dobias almost 6 years ago

  • Assignee set to Martin Dobias

#2 Updated by Martin Dobias almost 6 years ago

  • Status changed from Open to Closed

#3 Updated by Anita Graser over 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Closed to Reopened

While the dialog is deactivated when opening a dataset, it still pops up uninvitedly when using "Save as ..." to save a dataset.

#4 Updated by Martin Dobias over 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Reopened to Closed

Also available in: Atom PDF