Feature request #3427

Unnecessary rendering overhead

Added by John Tull over 8 years ago. Updated over 7 years ago.

Status:Closed
Priority:Low
Assignee:-
Category:Map Canvas
Pull Request or Patch supplied:No Resolution:duplicate
Easy fix?:No Copied to github as #:13487

Description

When I open the property dialog for both raster and vector layers, I can make changes to those properties and hit 'Apply' or 'Save as Default' to see the updates on the canvas. If I then hit 'Ok' to close the dialog, qgis unnecessarily re-renders that layer on the canvas. On the other hand, if I hit 'Cancel', I can skip this overhead on my system.

Is it possible for the code to flag when a layer has already been rendered from either 'Apply' or 'Save as Default' to avoid this duplication of rendering? Often this is not noticeable, but on large or complex layers, it can be quite severe.

History

#1 Updated by John Tull over 8 years ago

This is true for the advanced labeling dialog as well.

#2 Updated by Giovanni Manghi almost 8 years ago

  • Target version changed from Version 1.7.0 to Version 1.7.4

#3 Updated by Paolo Cavallini over 7 years ago

  • Pull Request or Patch supplied set to No
  • Assignee deleted (nobody -)

Possibly duplicated in #4789

#4 Updated by Giovanni Manghi over 7 years ago

  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from Open to Closed

it duplicate of #2596, please add your notes there (if the specific issue is not already part of the ticket)

Also available in: Atom PDF