Feature request #13902
confirmation of delete feature actions
|Pull Request or Patch supplied:||No||Resolution:|
|Easy fix?:||No||Copied to github as #:||21924|
It would be fine to have a small confirmation window before a feature or a group of selected features will be deleted - similar to the confirmation window after clicking "remove layer/group" in the legend.
Maybe some users will find this annoying. So it further would be fine to have a check box "Delete Confirmation" in Settings > Options.
#5 Updated by Kory Roberts about 2 years ago
If there is no momentum for this, can there at least be an alert message to let the user know a deletion of features occurred?
As far as I can tell, there are 4 pretty easy--single click--ways features could potentially be deleted without the user knowing:
- Accidentally clicking the delete button on the digitizing toolbar.
- Accidentally clicking the delete button on the attributes table toolbar.
- Accidentally hitting the delete key on the keyboard.
- Accidentally hitting the backspace key on the keyboard.
Undo is great...so long as the user realizes they tapped the delete key by mistake (too easy to do!!!). I know that I've personally had a couple of tense moments of confusion working with the attributes table... Did I just hit the delete key by mistake??? OK, back to the main window...undo. OK, what did I just undo? I have no idea!!!
I find a reasonable safeguard is warranted here. I also personally prefer the confirmation window approach: "Are you sure you want to delete the 35 selected features?" Yes/No. This also informs the user if more/fewer features are about to be deleted than intended.