Feature request #21381

Plugin Manager should warn when overwriting already installed plugin (by the "Install from zip" option)

Added by Panagiotis Mavrogiorgos 9 months ago. Updated 9 months ago.

Status:Open
Priority:Normal
Assignee:Borys Jurgiel
Category:Plugin Manager
Pull Request or Patch supplied:No Resolution:
Easy fix?:No Copied to github as #:29198

Description

I am developing a QGIS processing plugin. I've installed it manually by placing it in the appropriate directory (i.e. ~/.local/share/QGIS/QGIS3/...). I then downloaded a zip file from the git repo which hosts the plugin and tried to install it using the "install plugin from zip option". The installation worked without any hitch. I found this surprising. Shouldn't the identical IDs trigger at least a Warning?

History

#1 Updated by Borys Jurgiel 9 months ago

  • Subject changed from Qgis Plugin Manager allows to install two plugins with identical IDs to Plugin Manager should warn when overwriting already installed plugin (by the "Install from zip" option)
  • Tracker changed from Bug report to Feature request

I wouldn't say it's a bug. Usually you just give new versions of the plugin to your users and tell them to install it. In most cases they don't need to be warned. I even believe that confirmation popups could be more annoying than helpful.

But you're right, the current situation with no feedback is the other extreme. As soon as the file is selected, we can change the button text from "Install" to "Reinstall" or even add a gentle label comparing both versions and saying whether it's a new install, reinstall, upgrade or downgrade.

Also available in: Atom PDF