Feature request #15740

Inform user of logically deleted records in shapefiles and allow removal

Added by Alessandro Sarretta over 3 years ago. Updated almost 3 years ago.

Status:Open
Priority:Normal
Assignee:-
Category:Unknown
Pull Request or Patch supplied:No Resolution:
Easy fix?:No Copied to github as #:23662

Description

If a shapefile contains logically deleted records, the user is not informed about that.

The only thing a user can do to delete these records is to edit the shapefile or save it with as a new file (#15407).
Without knowing whether layers already contained in a QGIS projects or new layers have this issue, a user should always edit all the layers to be sure that they not contain logically deleted records.

One possible solution might be to inform the user, when opening a QGIS project or loading a new shapefile, about the presence of logically deleted records in the layers of the project, and provide a simple way to fix this. This could be a "save as" options for corrupted layers or an automatic editing (one record added and then deleted?).

I guess this automatic check could possibly slow down the start of a big project with a lot of layers. The activation of this check might be activated as default but maybe also unchecked in a setting parameter to avoid to slow down the opening of the project when a user is sure to have non-corrupted layers.

Test file can be found attached to this PostGIS ticket:
https://trac.osgeo.org/postgis/ticket/3645


Related issues

Related to QGIS Application - Bug report #15739: Wrong "Zoom to layer" extent on a shapefile layer with lo... Open 2016-10-21

History

#1 Updated by Giovanni Manghi about 3 years ago

  • Easy fix? set to No

#2 Updated by Jürgen Fischer almost 3 years ago

  • Category set to Unknown

Also available in: Atom PDF