Bug report #1443

Changed layer saving enhancement

Added by Borys Jurgiel almost 11 years ago. Updated about 10 years ago.

Status:Closed
Priority:Low
Assignee:Marco Hugentobler
Category:Digitising
Affected QGIS version: Regression?:No
Operating System:All Easy fix?:No
Pull Request or Patch supplied: Resolution:fixed
Crashes QGIS or corrupts data: Copied to github as #:11503

Description

When closing QGis containing a vector layer in edit mode, no warning is displayed and changes are being lost. The same when the layer is being removed from the legend.

I propose to implement one consistent behaviour: If user is closing a layer which contains any unsaved changes (because is either in editing mode or changed by a plugin or the Python Console), a warning message is displayed with three options:
- drop changes
- save layer (if supported)
- save as shapefile

History

#1 Updated by Marco Hugentobler about 10 years ago

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from Open to Closed

Fixed in

#2 Updated by Giovanni Manghi about 10 years ago

great news, thanks.

I noticed that if it is the case, qgis notices about saving the project before asking to save the changes to a layer. Maybe it is worth to exchange the priority of the two.

Ciao

#3 Updated by Marco Hugentobler about 10 years ago

I thought of that too. However, the user still has the possibility to cancel if asked to save the changes. If he cancels, I assume he hit the button by mistake and also want the layers to stay editable. In this case it is better to ask to save edit changes afterwards.

Also available in: Atom PDF