Feature request #13094
Unexpected behaviour in QGIS when saving the duplicate of a point shape
|Pull Request or Patch supplied:||No||Resolution:|
|Easy fix?:||No||Copied to github as #:||21161|
I recognized an unexpexted behaviour in QGIS. I have a point shape and needed a copy of it to delete some points for some analyzing. When I finished editing the copy I was saving it and realized that it overwrites the original shape.
Here is what I did:
1. I loaded a point shape.
2. I duplicate the layer by left clicking on the layer and choosing 'Duplicate'.
3. I delete some points in the duplicated layer and finish it by clicking 'Save layer edits'.
4. When I refresh, the changes are also done for the original layer.
I know that I just create a duplicate of the layer and not the data, but I guess it would be better to have an option that asks if you want to overwrite the original shape file or if you want to save the duplicate as a new. Otherwise it is irritating and giving an unexpexted behaviour.